First Dish

I have spent the past three hours debating on what to write about first.  How do I choose when there are so many yummy things out there to explore?  I decided to go with the most recent drool-worthy meal I have had and just go from there.  

This is the Juicy Lucy from Whitman’s in New York’s East Village and just about the most amazing thing I have ever tasted.  It is made from ground short ribs, stuffed with creamy pimento cheese, topped with caramelized onions, lettuce, tomato, and pickles on a soft sesame seed bun.  There are the standard fries as a side and then there is…Crack Kale.  Crack Kale is highly addictive as you may have guessed from the name.  It’s fresh kale that is flash fried and sprinkled with salt.  I am always on the lookout for a delicious and juicy cheeseburger and I generally end up a little disappointed.  But this completely exceeded my expectations and lived up to its juicy moniker!  Add in an alternate to the standard fries or o rings?  Love it!  The service was good and the staff was very friendly.  I’ll definitely be making a return trip to Whitman’s.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Katina says:

    YUM! and great finding the kale. That’s a new one but sounds delish!

  2. Erin says:

    ooh – that looks good! My coworkers and i are doing a burger tour of downtown over lunch – we’ve hit Bobby Vann’s and City Hall. This may be next!

Leave a Reply

