A New Experience at Sarabeth’s

Sunday brunch is such a great way to relax, spend time with friends and enjoy great food.  In New York it seems like every week a new place emerges full of Benedicts and mimosas.  But at the end of the day I like to have a place I can rely on for good food, especially if I have friends visiting.  That place is Sarabeth’s, a classic in the brunch circle.  I usually get the same dish when I go, but on a recent visit, it was more lunch time that breakfast and so I skipped the omelette.  After a little deliberation I ordered the Jumbo lump Crab Cake Sandwich served with french fries and a salad of friseé, watercress,julienned apples accented with grape tomatoes and tossed in a tart vinaigrette.   The crab was sweet, succulent and must have been prepared with a light touch because there were visible lumps of meat in the cake.  It sat atop a fat, delicious, perfectly toasted English muffin and was topped with a velvety tartar sauce sprinkled with an accent of chives.  Definitely a knife and fork meal, the combination of the salad accented the richness of the crab and make for an amazing flavor combination.  Oh my gosh and the French fries!  I have a confession, I don’t really like fries.  I mean I’ll eat them but they don’t do it for me.  But the fries at Sarabeth’s?  WOW!  They are thin, crispy, and salty.  Exactly what a good fry should be.  And, they stayed crisp through the entire meal! I don’t know how they do it!  Enough talking, here is the meal 🙂

Leave a Reply

