The World Is My Oyster

Writing a food blog and being a foodie has an abundance of positives.  I am able to hone my writing skills talking about a subject that truly interests me.  I write about what I love to cook,  plus I live in New York City home to the best restaurants anywhere so I always have material to talk about.  And, at the end of a long day, nothing really helps me de-stress better than writing an adjective filled review or recipe.

But, as Thanksgiving quickly approaches with Christmas right behind the one big con to this whole being a foodie thing is staring me straight in the face.  I’m carrying around some excess weight.  And not in that annoying “OMG, I’ve gained a 1/2 pound since college,” this is more like “Oh, wow.  I have a “secretary spread” and my butt is moving somewhat involuntarily from the rest of my body.”  Yesterday as I hustled said bee-hind around the city I overheard a conversation including the following key words: hormones, holiday stress, stress eating, stress drinking, “my mother-in-law made me eat it” etc. and it made me laugh.

High carb, low carb, no carb, high fat, low-fat, some fat, magic pills, magic liquid, celeb-endorsed this or that, frozen meals, delivered meals, dehydrated and reconstitute meals, I have literally tried everything.  Everyone at some time or another has sought out a magic weight loss.  Do you know where it has gotten me?  75 pounds heavier than I have ever been before.

But this time I have finally found the “secret” to weight loss.  OK, you ready?  Here it is.  I stopped giving control to everyone else, stopped blaming my problem on everyone and everything else and stopped relying on magic anything.  That’s it.

As my 30th birthday quickly approaches, I am finally gaining control in all aspects of my life, not just my weight.  I was ashamed for many years to write a food blog, because it just seemed inevitable “Look, the chubby girl’s writing about food”.  I can’t carry pictures of me as head cheerleader around to explain this isn’t how I always have looked.  But having the mindset that I can do anything, those pictures don’t seem so unattainable anymore.  The world is my oyster (gotta end with a food reference!).

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Hi Daisy,

    I think you’re really brave to write about your struggle with weight. I have a similar problem and self-consciousness when it comes to being a fat chick with a food blog — although I definitely impress upon people that “I don’t look well-fed because I eat crap!”

    I’m up to a size 16 from a size 10 last summer (lots of stress in my life right now), and it’s true that it’s no one’s fault but my own. Despite this, though, I’m happy. I believe in being able to be happy at any size, and, contrary to popular belief, people who are skinny (used to be one of those) don’t automatically have better lives than people who aren’t.

    I hope that in the future you can shake off some of the self-consciousness and shame that’s served along side with not adhering to our twisted culture’s standards of beauty, and that you are happy — no matter how much you choose to weigh or what size you wanna be!

    1. Thanks for writing Christine! I’m so glad that you can understand and relate to my thought process. I’ll be thinking about you that you can continue to cope with the stress in your life.

  2. Nikki says:

    That is AWESOME! Congratulations on taking control of your weight and many other aspects of your life! I’m very proud of you! Not just for taking control but for writing about it! Very cool! and ps. most of the girls who I meet who have foodie blogs are not chubby. I think writing about food really is a great way to be more conscious about what we’re eating!

Leave a Reply

