Peanut Butter Crackles

I love to bake!  It’s my therapy after a long work day, and very relaxing.  I get into a zone and basically blur out everything else.  December is an especially busy baking month for me-all those Christmas cookies!  But, this week I am baking a lot as well.  I am turning 30 in a few days and hosting a big birthday bash this weekend.  Aside from the dinner my mom and I are planning to make, I am creating a cookie bar.  Not a cookie in the shape of a bar, but an assortment of cookies and candies for my  guests to enjoy and also take home.  I adapted my recipe for Peanut Butter Crackles from a peanut butter cookie recipe by my beloved Paula Deen. Enjoy!

Peanut Butter Crackles (makes approx. 5 dozen cookies)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Combine:

1-12 oz jar of peanut butter ( I only use Skippy)

2 eggs (I use jumbo)

1+ 1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix these until completely incorporated and a little fluffy.

Add 1/4 cup flour and mix until just combined.

Lightly grease cookie sheets with butter or spray.  Roll the dough into balls and place on sheets.  **The dough does not spread very much and I was able to get about 2 dozen on 1 pan.**

Put the pans of dough balls in the fridge for 5-10 minutes to firm up.

Once all the dough is rolled and chilled, bake 10-11 minutes, rotating pans half way through.

Push the cookies with the back of a spoon so they flatten and “crack”.

Immediately remove from pans and allow to finish cooling on racks.

To make PB and C cookies, push a chocolate kiss or peanut butter cup into them.

To make PB and J cookies, push with spoon as above.  When cooled pair the cookies up, spread the bottoms with your favorite jelly or jam and sandwich together.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    These look so packed with peanut butter, I think I drooled on my keyboard a little!

    I know it’s early, but happy birthday! Your ”cookie bar” idea is fabulous!

  2. Nikki says:

    Yum! those look delicious!

Leave a Reply

