Hale and Hearty for breakfast? YES!

on

Let me give you a little lesson…for New Yorkers, Hale and Hearty is this soup gold mine that is a lunch staple.  I agree with the masses that the one time I had soup there with my mom, it was amazing.  So amazing in fact that four years later she still brings it up.  “Remember that corn chowder…”  Yes, I do, because I still think about it too!  So image my delight when I found out that I was going to be working near one.  I started off conservatively, only going once or twice in the first month of my new job.  Oh, but then December rolled around and I became like an addict.  Three or four times a week now I am getting a soup-salad combo with crackers.

But then, the unthinkable happened.  I walked by one morning and there it was: “Hale and Hearty Now Serves Breakfast”.  Holy moly!  Stop the presses.  My first thought was how good could breakfast from a soup place be?  My second thought was, is going to Hale and Hearty twice in one day obsessive?  Well, I’ll tell you breakfast is un-freaking-believable and no, I am not being obsessive, just a good consumer.  (It helps me sleep better.) 

I have been trying to write about their delicious breakfast for a few weeks but I always end up eating my subject before I get any good photos.  I finally restrained myself enough to take a few shots and I am going to try my hardest to explain the goodness.  I have had the fresh-baked egg soufflés (290-295 cal each) served with a slice of a county baguette and their mini french toast.

When I was talking to my eggs this morning I said to them “How do you have so much flavor in such a tiny package?”  Being eggs, they kept quiet but sat there oozing Swiss cheese and bacon.  The eggs are super creamy but not runny and jam-packed with flavorful filling.  The spinach and mushroom soufflés have a layer of sautéed spinach and mushrooms in them, not some miniscule chopped bits that could be mistake for parsley.  And the broccoli cheddar soufflés is filled with steamed broccoli and the perfect balance of cheddar cheese.

The mini french toasts are cute and delicious as well.  They have a bread base and lightly sweet custard on top, which keeps it from being too heavy, like traditional french toast.  I had the blueberry french toast which is bursting with fruity goodness.  As you can see I also had their delicious coffee.  Bold roast usually makes me jittery, but Hale and Hearty’s is rich  but very smooth.  Even their fruit cup is super fresh, ripe and cut into nice little bite-sized pieces.

In the spirit of the Christmas season, my gift to you is a new breakfast spot that is second to none.  Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ewinkelly says:

    holy crap, that french toast looks amazing. I don’t think there are any downtown near where I work, but I’ll google to check!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Holy Moly. I am going to end up getting breakfast now. I am soo excited 🙂

Leave a Reply

