Pumpkin Cheesecake

I had this can of pumpkin in my cupboard that I knew would sit until next Fall if I didn’t do something with it, so I dug through a few recipes and put together my first attempt at a cheesecake.  I went with a pumpkin cheesecake with a gingersnap crust.  I was pretty impressed by the results.  It was creamy, well-spiced and was a lot easier than I thought it would be.  The crust was the only think I was hesitant about, because I needed 4 cups of gingersnaps but I didn’t have enough so I did some improvising with surprisingly good results.  Most cheesecakes are made in a spring-form pan, I didn’t have one so instead I lined a 9″ cake pan with foil for easy removal.  This is also cooked in a bain-marie or water bath, which promotes a gentler and more even cooking and keeps the custardy filling creamy.

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Crust


4 c crumbs (I used 2 c gingersnaps and 2 c corn flakes and ground them in a food processor)

4 Tbs butter, melted

2 Tbs brown sugar

Mix crumbs, butter and sugar until mixture resembles wet sand and press into foil-lined pan (or spring-form).  Bake @ 325 degrees for 7 minutes until set.  Remove and let cool while you work on the filling.  At this time, you should also put on a tea kettle of water that you will need later for the water bath.

Filling

16 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 c sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 c pumpkin puree (pure pumpkin, not the pumpkin pie filling)

2 eggs

You will need to use a stand or hand mixture so the filling gets thoroughly mixed. Combine the cheese, spices, salt and sugar in mixer and whip until fluffy.

Add the pumpkin and mix until combined.  Then, with the mixer on low, add the eggs one at a time, waiting for the first to mix in before adding the second.  I had to stop and scrape down the bowl a few times (and to make sure nothing was stuck at the bottom).  Once the mixture is combined and a uniform color, pour the filling into the cooked and cooled crust.

Carefully place the cake pan into a larger roaster (I used a larger 9×13 pan) and put in the oven, then before you close the door, add the hot water to the larger pan.  I do it this way so the risk of water sloshing into the filling is gone.

Bake for 1 hour.  Remove from water bath and let cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes before refrigerating overnight.

When ready to serve, pull the cake from the pan and peel off the foil before plating.

Enjoy!

Pumpkin on FoodistaPumpkin

7 Comments Add yours

  1. vincent says:

    Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

    1. Of course- thanks for reading!

  2. Nikki says:

    Yum!!! Wow Krista you did an amazing job with that!!! and ps I love your mixer!!! it reminds me of the one we used at that cooking class at ICE. Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays to you and your family!

  3. Of course! That’s amazing, thank you!

  4. Alisa says:

    Your pumpkin cheesecake looks good.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this pumpkin widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about pumpkin recipes,Thanks!

  5. Your pumpkin cheesecake looks great. A cheesecake I have yet to try.

Leave a Reply

