Beet This

on

Happy Tuesday!  I am still under the weather a bit so I’m not up for too much cooking, but I do have a question to be answered!

How do you prepare fresh beets?  What can I make with them?

Great question! Growing up, all the veggies my mom served were fresh, but beets were not as easy to find.  We did have canned beets, but as a kid I didn’t enjoy the earthiness that I do now.  Then I had a delicious roasted beet salad at a party and I was hooked.

To prepare fresh beets; first cut off any leaves and stems and wash the root to clean off the excess dirt.  Preheat the oven to 375 degree F, make a double layer of foil and place the beets in the foil with a sprinkle of oil and a little salt.  Wrap up the beets tightly and place on a baking sheet or directly on the rack.  Bake for 45-60 minutes until knife-tender.  This is when you poke a knife into the flesh of the veggie it comes out with ease.  Cool for about 10 minutes, unwrap the foil, cut the ends of the beet off and then just barely slice through the skin lengthwise and the skin will peel off.  As you can see this is a messy job.  Use gloves if you want, I wore my red fingers with pride since it was so close to Halloween when I made them.  Truthfully, don’t say you don’t like beets until you’ve have them fresh roasted.  They aren’t metallic-y, just pure and delicious.

To answer the second part of the question, I love them just out of the oven with a little salt and pepper.  But, my most favorite way is this salad, and you can make it for 2 or 10 in about the same time.

Roasted Beet Salad (Serves 4)

4 beets, roasted, peeled and chopped (you can use red, yellow, candy cane or any combo)

3-4 cups washed arugula leaves or spring mix

4 oz blue cheese, crumbled

1/2 c walnuts, toasted and chopped ( I put these in a dry saute pan and toast until I just start to smell them)

For the vinaigrette: 3 parts Olive oil, 1 part apple cider vinegar, salt, black pepper

Because the red beets bleed, I like to serve this version as an arranged salad.  Whisk together the vinaigrette ingredients and toss in the arugula.  Pile in the middle of a big serving platter.  Top with the cubes of beets (or you can slice them), sprinkle the cheese and finally the nuts.  Enjoy!

Variation- Here I used fresh, ripe D’Anjou (green) pears instead of beets, and baby spinach as the greens.  I tossed it all together and served it on top of warmed flatbread for a light supper.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Thanks for posting this — I love beets (never had em from a can, tho) but I’ve been too afraid to prepare them myself!

    Now I feel way more confident about cooking beets. I’m going to try to roasting up a couple soon. 🙂

  2. Nikki says:

    Wow Krista this is awesome!!!!! I love beets and have only had them from a can. I bought them once but didn’t know how to make them so I ended up throwing them out. I’m so excited, now I know! Yaye!! I’m totally going to roast some beets now!! I’ve had them in a great salad before, it has beets, with blue cheese, with walnuts and spinach and alittle balsamic vinegarette. I’ve also had beets just with blue cheese and walnuts and it was great!

Leave a Reply

