Livin’ On a Prayer

Happy Friday!   I love Foodless Fridays and do you know why?  Because it means the weekend is finally here.  Don’t get me wrong I love my job, but my laundry basket isn’t going to walk itself to the wash n’fold.  Anywho, so today’s post is from something that happened last weekend.  I’m so giddy I can’t even take it.  Being the good sister that I am, I got my sister two tickets to the Bon Jovi concert for Christmas this year.  She was able to take anyone she wanted as long as said person was well, me.

We rarely get to have a night out together, nights in together are rare too, but this night was a nice change from our usual busy schedules.  My sister and I “Jerseyed-out” our hair, which to be honest, growing up in the ’80s, isn’t that crazy, we have an affinity for bouffanty hair.  I was also excited, because I have been in and around the Garden more time that I can count, but this was the first time I was going to be at a concert in Madison Square Garden.  My sister and I have semi-seen Bon Jovi two other times, but the third time was definitely the charm.  Once, was a surprise acoustic appearance at the opening night of the Tribeca Film Festival a few years back, the second was a “hear but can’t see cause we didn’t have tickets” concert in Central Park.  This night though was the best, a gloriously loud, rowdy concert.

The great thing about a band like Bon Jovi is that their appeal is very widespread and spans generations.   Just in our section alone there were two friends in their 40s, each with 3 kids (the kids were at home) that were having a moms night out; a family of three with a teenage son,  a mom and her 8-year-old daughter, a couple well into their sixties and every age in between.

The best part about the whole night (aside from our seats that were about 20 rows from the stage) was that we stood and sang along with every song.  And, even the songs I didn’t really know I was singing by the end.  The energy in the Garden was amazing, but the energy from the stage was unmatched.  I can’t remember the last concert I was at that every band member seemed to really be enjoying what they were doing.  Every single person in the area was engaged, excited and enthusiastic about spending the night with this iconic group of musicians.  They needed no introduction, and no opener.  Their set went close to three hours with a minor 5 minute technical break.  Unreal.  So, Have a Nice Day because You’re Love is Like Bad MedicineAlways.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Wow — very colourful! Looks like you had a blast!

    While I’ve personally never understood the appeal of Bon Jovi, I have soooo many girlfriends who swoon and faint over him — one of my friends is so obsessed she even named her little girl “Jovi”! With that kind of fanaticism surrounding the man, I have to admit that I’m probably the one not quite cluing in to something here!

Leave a Reply

