Snackwell’s Yogurt…A Fading Memory

There are two types of people in the world.  The yogurt eaters and the non-yogurt eaters.  Except for a short stint when I thought I was lactose-intolerant (heaven-forbid!) I have always been one of the yogurt eaters.

Growing up in the ’80s, the options were the really thick, chunky “custard-style” or those snack size cups in Strawberry or Blueberry.  And, unlike eating it for a meal like I do now, yogurt was a snack.  I remember when lemon yogurt came out.  My mom, bless her heart, tried to convince me it tasted like this amazing Lemon Lush dessert she makes.  Don’t get me wrong, I really like lemon yogurt, but taste like a lemon, cream cheese, whipped cream, walnut crust concoction?  I don’t think so.

As I grew up, light yogurt became the rage and man it was/is awful, but we ate it because it was less fat, low calories, fake fruity flavors!  I can’t believe we took it for so long.

Then there was Trix flavored yogurt invented as a compromise for families like mine where sugared cereal only showed up on Christmas morning or vacations down the Shore.  I had it once, I suspect there was less sugar in the actual cereal…

About a year or so ago, I was at my mom and dad’s and they had Fage 2% with honey yogurt in the fridge.  My mom swears that it’s the best yogurt.  Still haunted by images of the super-thick “custard” yogurt from my childhood I was skeptical.  But, she’s mom.  Aside from the Lemon Lush incident, I really do trust her judgement.  Well, all I can say is, THANK YOU, MOM!  I cannot tell you how good this stuff is.  I especially love the Honey, and I recently had Cherry Pomegranate (also delicious).  What I love the most about it, aside from the  taste is that I can pronounce all the ingredients in it.

I am not alone, in the most recent Ad Age, Greek yogurt sales have skyrocketed.  Last year sales were 469 million dollars way up from 33.3 million dollars in 2007.  Chobani is my other favorite Greek yogurt, plus they sell it at Costco in a 12 pack, score!I wouldn’t stray too much from either of these.  I have had other Greek-style yogurts and they were less that fabulous.  All of this is well and good, but there is one, very special yogurt that I am here to talk about.

Snackwell’s Yogurt.  It was chocolate heaven in a green cup.  I used to eat it almost every day for lunch my junior year of high school.   I think my whole table ate it.  Sometimes I dunked pretzels in it, or apple slices.  It was so rich and fat-free, plus it actually tasted good.

The only Snackwell's I can find

It went so far away, hours of searching online yields no image results and the only notes about it are commentary of the “new rage” that is approaching.  Some believe it went the way of the frozen yogurt on Seinfeld.  Fat= new lower fat formula= went away forever.  Others think that because it was pasteurized it wasn’t really yogurt.  Fine, call it a dairy delight.  I don’t care, just bring it back!

Some days you will find me wandering in the yogurt section, secretly hoping that it will magically pop up on the shelf.  But, after all those years, who’s really going to eat it?  *sigh*

I know that there are “chocolate on the bottom” yogurts out there, but they don’t compare.  I miss you Snackwell’s yogurt.  I also miss your cousins the Snackwell’s mini cookies and cheese crackers, but that’s another post, another time.

So for now, it’s just me and my Greek.  Yogurt, that is.  But I will always have nice memories of the Snackwell’s I so loved.  You got me to my goal weight, and then you went away.  And so did my smaller waist haha.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. Kelly says:

    hello I too love,love,love snackwell yogurt any of the flavors would do but chocolate cherry was the best! I wish for it to come back as well PLEASE!!!!

    1. Yes! I was always partial to the Chocolate Peanut Butter- but any will do!

  2. Amberq says:

    I was 9 when that came out and I still miss it to this day! I can almost taste it if I think about it hard enough. Great taste, unique flavor, low fat–it was awesome.

    1. I know! Haha glad I’m not the only one 🙂

    1. morgan says:

      How is this possible? 😮

      1. Oh wow! This is awesome! 🙂

    2. I can’t believe Im just seeing this- Thank you! Amazing 🙂

  3. Amanda says:

    I found this post by googling “snackwell’s yogurt” because I miss it so much. ):
    I’m glad I’m not the only one who remembers this heavenly cup of chocolate goodness.

    1. It was the best! Glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

  4. Loretta says:

    OMG I feel the same way, i also search the grocery stores for this yogurt, nothing comes close. it was the best chocolate fix!! i dont ;undetstand why snackwells took it off the shelf, it always sold out at giant food markets. Bring it back Please!!

  5. skywindfiresun@gmail.com says:

    YES! I am so glad I am not the only one that misses this yogurt so much! I know it’s corny but so what. It was so GOOD and I think about it often. It’s one of my favorite memories as a teen like in middle school :). I did try the greek yogurt, no offense but I did NOT like it! It was just gross and didn’t taste chocolatey enough. Ah well, I guess in this life time nothing can or nearly replace Snackswell Yogurt unless that brand comes back 🙂

    1. I love that I ma not the only one out there! Greek yogurt is definitely an acquired taste, never had chocolate Greek yogurt though! I like the honey the best 🙂 Thanks for visiting my site 🙂 Have a great week!

  6. Crystal says:

    It is so nice to know that I am not the only one who checks every grocery store I go into for Snackwell’s Chocolate Yogurt! It was and still is the only type of yogurt I have ever been able to eat. Snackwells – Please bring it back!

  7. lori says:

    You totally cracked me up with the article, because I hate yogurt and snackwells was the only kind I ever ate in my life!! I do the same thing when I go grocergy shopping praying it will just reappear. How I wish one day soon it will!!

  8. Anonymous says:

    I have also been looking all over for snackwell yogurt. I loved it and have not had anything that even comes close to it. Snackwell please bring it back. We would get it for lunch everyday as I worked at a grocery store and I had quick access when I would run out to buy some more before leaving work. PLEASE BRING BACK THIS PRODUCT WHY DID YOU EVER TAKE IT AWAY. Iowa loves it and we need it back.

  9. Michelle says:

    Oh how I agree with you! I don’t know which was best, the double chocolate, chocolate cherry, or the chocolate raspberry!

  10. Michcella says:

    i also found you because i researched snackwell’s yogurt! i, too, wander the aisles hoping Snackwell’s yogurt will appear on the shelves. i was only 5 or 6 when it was released, but, man, do i remember it. i was a terrible eater and a chocolate lover at that age, so i was only allowed to have it on special occasions. i remember begging my mother to buy it when we went to the store. truthfully, thinking back on it, it did taste more like pudding than yogurt, but i don’t care. i miss it too. my favorite one was the Chocolate Cherry.

    come back, snackwell’s yogurt!

  11. kim says:

    Me, too! I found you because I did a search for snackwell chocolate yogurt. I want it back!

  12. Stephanie says:

    I could not agree more!!! I have always been a yogurt eater myself and although there are delicious options available now, I miss the Snackwell’s brand and wish they would bring it back!

Leave a Reply

