Comfy Weekend Lunch

on

Hi!  Hope you all had a wonderful weekend.  And you stayed dry.  I’m not sure about the rest of you, but I tend to do the most cooking on the weekend.  And this one was no exception.  Yesterday, the cold and rainy weather was begging me to make a brunch/lunch that was comforting.

On Friday I had stopped by this fabulous cheese shop in NYC called Murray’s Cheese.  I bought a delicious piece of one-year aged Grafton Cheddar.  I have to be honest, with the exception of some pungent cheeses, I have never been able to pickup on cheese nuances.  But, this cheese was spectacular.  It was earthy, grassy with a hint of floral notes.  The texture was creamy, a little sharp and tangy but not overwhelming.  In addition to the Cheddar I bought sliced cured ham from Vermont that the cheesemonger told me was smoked over wood and corn cobs.  It was smokey yet delicate and paired really well with the cheese.

So what does a girl looking for comfort do?  She gathers up a few slices of good bread and makes a gooey, buttery grilled cheese.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jessica says:

    I haven’t eaten lunch yet and now I’m drooling on my keyboard… This looks so good!

Leave a Reply

