Happy Birthday, Wienermobile!

on

The Wienernobile.  An All-American symbol of the foodie nation that we live in and love.  No matter what age we are, seeing that giant orange and yellow symbol driving down the highway brings a smile to children of all ages.  I have been blessed to see the Wienermobile a few times in my life but alas, have never been inside of it.  Some day, I hope to make that dream a reality!

But for now, you too can share in the delight I had this morning when I saw the Wienermobile parked on the streets of Manhattan.  Here’s to you, Oscar Mayer and your giant Wiener-on-the-go, for 75 years of pure joy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Ahaha! I have a funny story to share.

    Once, when I was a kid, the Oscar Meyer mobile stopped in front of a charity house in my neighbourhood. Being the good older sister that I was (on occasion), I dragged my little sister and brother to see it with me. My sister didn’t have much to say, but my brother, about 6-years-old at the time, saw the car and exclaimed, “WEEEEENIE MOBILE!”

    “‘Wienie mobile’? Why do you call it that?” asked one of the friendly staffers hanging around outside of the car.

    And, without any hesitation, my brother replied, “Because it looks like my WEENIE!!”

    Oh, god… I was only 10 or so at the time, but I nearly died of embarrassment.

    Thanks for the post and jogging my memory. 🙂

    1. Haha- I love kids! They have no filter 🙂

Leave a Reply

