Getting back on track…

on

So after a doozie of a weekend, I left early for work fully expecting to be late due to mass transit delays.  Somehow I managed to get to work this morning in record time.  After the heavy amount of rain combined with the brilliant sun the city looked freshly scrubbed and glittered with all its beauty.

Taking the extra thirty minutes or so I had before I made my way to my office I stopped off at iconic Grand Central Station.  Strolling by Neuhaus Chocolates is not something I generally do, speed walking by is more like it.  But since they were closed at this hour I figured I was safe from any chocolate goodness that might creep onto my hips.  But their window display cause my eye and as a child of the ’80s I was delighted to see that they too jumped on the Smurf bandwagon.

Once I pulled my nose away from the clean glass front I opened the doors to GCT preparing myself for the usual throngs of people I am dodging left and right as they rush towards me at this hour.  But this morning as the clock was creeping towards 8am  you could hear a pin drop.

Irene cleared this place out

After the eerily empty pictures that emerged this weekend after all train service was suspended, I kept walking towards the center of the station to see if things were back to normal.  Without all the normal traffic flow the building had a calm about it that let me appreciate the carvings, the arches, the iconic center clock and of course the gorgeous ceiling covered in constellations.

Monday morning rush hour

This morning the terminal was almost all mine, lost in the quiet and peaceful serene setting of the amber lighting and smooth marble I imagined walking out and seeing a meadow of trees and endless wildflowers.  I followed the sunshine as it streamed through the doors, smiled at the gorgeous day, opened the brass and wooded doors and jumped as an ambulance screeched to a halt in front of the entrance I was walking out of.  Ah, reality.  Happy Monday and I hope all you East Coasters fared as well as I did during the storm.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Glad you made it through Irene okay!

    Grand Central looks beautiful — I hope to see it in person one day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

