Cake Balls…Finally!

After reading and seeing endless posts from Bakerella, Family Circle, Martha Stewart, et al it was about time I make cake balls too! For a recent bachelorette weekend, I made a chocolate cake, chocolate frosting and finished with a dip in violet Wilton candy melts. I used a double boiler to melt the candy, but if you have an electric fondue pot that will work too.
Two tips: I had the hardest time keeping the ball on the stick while I dunked, so I suggest freezing the balls first before you dip. Second, the chocolate was not thin or even enough for my liking so I dipped a little and spread it around with an offset spatula.
Next time I may just lose the stick and roll in cocoa powder for ease and to cut the sweetness. The candy coating was not super smooth but overall I they tasted good and I liked the textural difference of the snap of the candy and the soft, smooth cake and frosting inside. Plus the edible purple glitter and silver stars made every one look even better!

20111109-031257.jpg

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Meenakshi says:

    Your cake pops look so pretty!! And the candy coating is just fine…it’s more fun to eat when it’s a bit rocky!!

    1. Thanks! Have a great day!

  2. Christine says:

    These look sooo pretty! I’ve seen edible glitter in kitchen stores and I haven’t gotten up the guts to use it yet, but I think your photo will inspire me to get out of the glitter-free box I live in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

