She Makes Seashells

I’m in the process of making a beach themed bridal shower cake. I decided to go more classic instead of kitschy. I’m making a three layer pound cake, filled with tangy lemon curd and frosted with a homemade butter-based buttercream. No shortening here!
The final touch is white chocolate molded seashells. I’m really excited about these! I melted the white and pink Wilton melts in the microwave, swirled them together, spooned them into the molds and froze for 20 minutes. When they came out I brushed on pink and white luster dust to make them shine. Luster dust is finely ground edible glitter and gives everything a great sheen and sparkle. Enjoy the beautiful shells and I’ll post the finished cake later this week.

20111129-215635.jpg

20111129-215655.jpg

One Comment Add yours

  1. Christine says:

    Oooh, omg! I’m totally excited to see the end result!

Leave a Reply

