Sidebar- Go to Sidecar!

on

Brunching in New York is the lifeblood of any good weekend.  So on this brunch adventure I ventured into Brooklyn to try out Sidecar and catch up with friends and new babies!

I immediately fell in love when I walked in; dark wood, rustics tables and floors, a relaxed vibe, great music in the background and even space outside in the back.  Forgoing the typical eggs or pancakes route that I usually take I tried a Southern specialty that I have always wanted to have, Shrimp and Grits.

Or as I like to call it, Heaven in a Bowl.  A spicy, tomato broth filled with vegetables, bacon (of course) and plump shrimp on a bed of the creamiest and most flavorful cheesy grits I have had.  I can make polenta but grits have eluded me.  Never one to shy away from a carb- overload, I had a biscuit on the side.  (Well, I needed to sop up all that brothy goodness, right?)

Look at all the layers!  It was flaky, crispy, buttery and had a really good texture.  Sturdy without being too heavy.  And since no brunch would be complete without a few libations, I paired my spicy and savory entree with a sweet and sassy cocktail that was infused with Earl Grey tea and whos name eludes me!  Definitely give Sidecar a try.  You can even use our “It was on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives” excuse.  True Story.

-Krista 🙂

Leave a Reply

