Nice (Sticky) Buns

I love my dad.  My dad loves Sticky Buns.  My dad has been searching for a good sticky bun for like 20 years.  Ever since our hometown bakery, The Sticky Bun Shop, closed.   They were a full-service bakery, not just a place for buns.  They made the best birthday sheet cakes ever and it was where I tasted my first flaky, crispy pigs’ ear aka elephant ear aka giant Palmier.

So imagine my excitement when this Bon Appétit crossed my desk.

OMG.  So I set aside a weekend, planning for more time than necessary just to be sure and dove head first into making the most amazing Sticky Buns I have ever tasted.  Was it the milk in the dough, the butter?  So much butter!  The orange zest I folded into the caramel goo?  <—Highly recommended.  All of that combined to make a recipe well worth the time.  I doubled the recipe, individually cut and wrapped each bun once they were cooled and froze them so that my mom and dad could pop one out whenever a craving struck.  Enjoy the photos and click on the mag above for the recipe straight from Bon Ap.

Enjoy!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. vivilinh says:

    ive never had a sticky bun… but this look delish!

  2. Christine says:

    Those sticky buns look like a sweet-n-cinnamony-oozey-gooshy delicious mess — just the way they ought to be! 😀

  3. OMG, maybe its a Philly thing 🙂 Let me know how they turn out!

  4. victoria says:

    Omg. My mom was just here from Alabama to visit. What did she ask for..sticky buns like they make in Philly (where we are orig from). No icing on top, just sticky! Couldnt find them anywhere, but thanks to you Daisy…. I can make them anywhere, New York New York la la la-la la!

Leave a Reply

