New Year’s Eve Brunch

Happy New Year’s Eve!  What a year 2012 has been :). So today I wanted to make something special and different for brunch for my family.  I love having free range of my Mom’s kitchen.  The selection of food is always better!

I fished around in the fridge and decided to make something around the mushrooms I found.  I started by sautéing some onion is a little butter and oil, then I cleaned and chopped the mushrooms (stems included!) added them to onions and seasoned it all with salt, pepper and thyme.  To go with the mushroom reduction, I whipped up a batch of cornmeal griddle cakes.

Screen Shot 2012-12-31 at 1.02.58 PMScreen Shot 2012-12-31 at 1.03.08 PM

To serve- top the corn cakes with a small piece of cheese (I used a regional brand called Dietz & Watson who makes an awesome horseradish cheese that you can find in the deli).   Then I topped it off with the mushroom mixture.

Screen Shot 2012-12-31 at 1.03.31 PM

On the side I put together a citrus salad with grapefruit and oranges that are always present during Christmastime.  It was simple and fast but so satisfying . Enjoy and have a safe, healthy and happy New Year!!!
Leave a Reply

