Flaky Doughnuts at Home

TA-DA!
TA-DA!

Hello!  If you’ve been reading any type of food news in the past few weeks, you’ve heard of the famed Cronut by NYC’s  Dominique Ansel Bakery.  The cronut is a sweet and delightful marriage of a croissant and a doughnut.  Currently the wait for one is a few hours although you can also find them on the black market for ridiculous markups.

Am I jumping on the cronut bandwagon?  Possibly.  The truth is that a few months ago I fried up a couple of Grands! Flaky Layers Honey Butter biscuits and the end result was a delectable treat with a flaky, crunchy exterior and a pillowy soft inside.  I finished them off with a homemade maple glaze.  Why am I waiting until now to post them?  I’d like to think it’s because I had the foresight to wait until the height of the cronut  craze, when in actuality it’s because I recently came across a picture of them on my phone and I thought, “Hey, I should write about those.”

I’ll tell you what, if I wasn’t counting Weight Watchers points right now, I’d go ahead and fry up a batch!  But for now, I’ll just post this picture and be satisfied knowing that you, my readers, can enjoy them in your own home.

The Recipe:

1 can Grands! Flaky Layers Honey Butter Biscuits

Vegetable Oil

The Glaze:

1/2 c powdered sugar

Maple syrup

A dash of Vanilla

Rainbow Sprinkles (or Jimmies if you’re from my neck of the woods!)

The Method:

Separate the biscuits and cut out the center (don’t forget to save the holes!).  Heat up an inch of oil* in a high-sided frying pan (or use a fryer if you have one)-I have an electric stove and I had it set between 3 and 4.  Carefully add the biscuits to the oil ( I used tongs) and fry until golden on the first side (2-3 minutes), flip and fry the other side until completely cooked.  Drain on a few layers of paper towel, let cool slightly and toss in the Maple Glaze until covered.  To finish, top with your favorite Sprinkles!

To make the glaze- stir together the sugar, a dash of vanilla and a few tablespoons of maple syrup to make a thin consistency.  If you glaze while the doughnuts are still warm the glaze will soak in and make them extra tasty!

*To test the oil: put the end of a wooden spoon in the oil and watch for bubbles to appear.  At this point the oil should be hot enough to fry in.

dough
I cut out the center of the biscuits using a pastry tip.
Fry 'em up!  I only used about an inch of used vegetable oil in a high sided skillet.
Fry ’em up! I only used about an inch of vegetable oil in a high sided skillet

krista

Leave a Reply

