All-American Chex Mix

photo[1]Hey!  Its Summer, Summer, Summertime!  So just sit back and unwind…I’ll thank Will Smith for that throwback 🙂  I love the Summer, don’t you?  I mean my hair looks like Diana Ross but it’s the time for barbecues, rooftop bars, going to the Shore and live music.  Last week my girlfriends and I relived our childhood crushes at the Package Tour!  Three and a half hours of Boyz II Men, 98 Degrees and (insert shrieking here) NKOTB!!!!  I had such a great time, I’m headed out to see them again in July.

But, today I wanted to share with you a recipe that is commonly referred to as White Trash- I am choosing to not call it that, however.  It’s all over the Web.  You can find versions here or even here.

This week at work my team and I are hosting happy hour and we decided on a Summer party to celebrate the 4th of July.  Originally I was going to bring in my S’mores Set-up but on second thought an open flame with alcohol in an office highrise didn’t seem safe so we stuck to the basics.  (I am fire warden after all!)  Jell-O shots, Chips and Dip and Chex Mix- all done with a classy twist.  I swear.  I was on Chex Mix Duty so I chose the version from Food.com and tweaked it.  The best thing (I think) was using Sixlets instead of M&Ms.  First of all, the colors are bolder and the white ones had a little sparkle to them.  Plus they have a unique chocolate but not too much chocolate taste.  I made the trip to Dylan’s Candy Bar on the UES where I paid out the nose for a pound of these babies but it was worth it.  Enjoy!

photoAll-American Chex Mix

5 cups Rice Chex
4.5 cups Corn Chex
16 ounces Red, White and Blue Sixlets, divided
2 1/2 cups salted mixed nuts (I used Planters)
2 cups small pretzels
2-11 ounce packages Ghirardelli white chocolate chips
Directions:

1 Have your sister (or another willing party) measure the cereal, half the Sixlets, nuts and pretzels in a big bowl.

2 Pour the white chocolate into a microwave safe bowl and melt it in intervals.  I started with 1 minute, stirred.  Then 40 seconds, stirred.  Finally 30 seconds and stirred.

3 Pour the melted chocolate over the bowl of ingredients and stir until everything is well coated.  I started with a wooden spoon and ended up using my hands to get everything well coated.  My hands were well washed (yours should be too!)

4 While you are mixing, ask your sister to cover 2 baking sheets in parchment.  Stop what you are doing to wash your hands, reroll the parchment that has somehow popped out of the box.  Rewash hands, continue mixing the ingredients together.  Wash hands again.

5 Divide the mixture among the parchment-lined sheets.  Listen to your sister when she says to use a spatula to press down the mixture to make everything even.  Sprinkle the rest of the Sixlets on the top of the pans so you can see the colors.

6 Watch Wheel of Fortune while you wait for the mix to cool.  Break it up into chunks and store in air tight containers to bring to the office.

7 Enjoy a taste test of Chex Mix with your sister as you watch DVR’d episodes of Long Island Medium.

krista

Leave a Reply

