I’m Not Pretty, But I’m Delicious Eggplant Dip

Even now that the Summer has wound down I love to go to the Farmer’s Market and enjoy the bountiful produce available.  That was the case 2 weeks ago, when visiting a friend in New Jersey we stopped at her town’s weekly market.  Farmers and food vendors from around the area were selling everything from juicy, ripe Jersey tomatoes to ghost peppers (!) to my personal favorite, Apple Cider Donuts.  I was immediately drawn to the zucchini and baby eggplants that were begging to come home with me.  Though as the week passed, the vegetables stared up at me from the vegetable drawer wondering why I was neglecting them.  They were getting sad and frankly, a little limp.  Normally I’d throw a little egg and breadcrumb on them, fry them up and call it a day.  But, as someone who is trying to lose weight (almost at the 50 lb mark!) I thought that there had to be a better way.  And then I remembered seeing Ina Garten make an eggplant dip and after a quick search I found it here.  I didn’t have everything so I couldn’t make it exactly like hers, but at least now I had a place to start.  Here is the only thing-I tried really hard to take a pretty picture of the dip, but to be honest if you saw it there is a good chance you’d never even read this, let alone make it.  So no, it’s not pretty but yes, it is delicious.  I promise!  Enjoy!

I’m Not Pretty, But I’m Delicious Eggplant Dip

2-8″ eggplants washed and cut into 1″ cubes

2 medium zucchini cut into half moons

1/2 Spanish onion, chopped

2 scallions (green and white parts), chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

bunch of basil and chives

olive oil

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place eggplant, zucchini and onion on a sheet pan.  Drizzle with olive oil and toss until evenly coated then sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Roast for 45 minutes until the veggies are soft and browned.  Transfer to a bowl and let cool for 5 minutes.  Add the scallions, garlic and herbs and blend with an immersion blender* until combined.

Serve with carrot chips or slices of baguette.

*You can also blend in a food processor or blender if you do not have an immersion blender.

krista

Leave a Reply

