Lemon and Locatelli Spaghetti Squash

Image
A glistening walkway in Central Park

Hello there!  Who’s excited for Spring?  Anyone?  Everyone?!  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy living in a part of the country where I get to experience seasons, however I’m over the smell of wet wool and salt stains on my Doc Martens.  It is supposed to be in the mid-50s later this week so woohoo to that!

On top of enjoying the snowy city, I’ve been on a pretty regimented weight loss plan so I’ve scaled back on cooking.  Between that and finishing the first draft of my novel (yay!) I know I’ve been scarce.  But then I made this spaghetti squash recipe and thought, “Hey, remember you have a blog where you share recipes?  You should share this.”  So, enjoy this spaghetti squash recipe my fearless followers!  It makes a filling dinner for two, or serve as a side dish.

Image
Lemon and Locatelli Spaghetti Squash

Lemon and Locatelli Spaghetti Squash

1 spaghetti squash (I bought the heaviest I could find)

1/4 c water

2 teaspoons salt, divided

2 teaspoons unsalted butter

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

4 tablespoons grated Locatelli cheese

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Wash the outside of the squash.  Being very careful, cut off the stem end of the squash–you’ll use a lot of muscle for this.  Turn the squash onto the cut end and slice the squash down one side and then the other so you have two lengthwise halves.  Use a spoon to scoop out the seeds*.  Sprinkle 1 teaspoon of the salt over the inside of the squash and place cut side down in a 9×9 baking dish.  Add the water and bake, uncovered for 45 minutes or until a knife can be easily inserted into the skin.

Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes or until you are able to handle it.  If you’re impatient like me, use a kitchen towel or an OveGlove to hold it while still warm.

Add the butter and oil to a skillet on medium heat.  Drag a fork across the flesh, scrape out the spaghetti like strands and add to the skillet.  Saute 3-4 minutes, seasoning with the remaining salt, peppers and cheese.  Stir until the cheese begins to melt and coats the strands of squash.  Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the lemon juice.  Enjoy!

*You can roast spaghetti squash seeds in a similar fashion to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Leave a Reply

